Haskell County

Haskell County
County Seat -

Home | Archives  | Cemeteries | Photos | QueriesObits | Look-ups | Schools | Additional links

"Links to web sites that are not part of the US Gen Web Project are provided for your convenience and do not imply any endorsement of the web sites or their contents by The US Gen Web Project."

Hi, I am Jeff Smith the County Coordinator for Haskell County.  I do not live in Haskell County, therefore I am unable to do local lookups.  Check with local Volunteers.  If you have information and/or
pictures that you would like to see posted to this site, please email me. Thanks

Post a message on OK Gen Web Message/Forum Board

search this site the web
search engine by freefind

Haskell County District Court
202 E. Main St.
Stigler, OK 74462-2439
Telephone: (918) 967-3323

County Clerk: Gail Brown
Court Clerk: Denise Sloan



Family Group Sheets/Family Histories

Pioneer Papers

Some County Deaths



Funeral Homes

Photos & Maps
    Photo Album

   Map of Haskell County

Stigler Chamber of Commerce
Stigler Public Library
Stigler News

County Physical, Cultural & Historic Features

County ZIP Codes
Area Code

County Land - Property, Farms & Ranches


Marriage Records - Choctaw Nation

Marriage Records

Military Records

Land Openings
Choctaw Nation     
County Historical Society
County Surnames   

McCurtain Genealogy Society

Other Links of Interest
Birth & Death Records
Rootsweb Queries Archives
Rootsweb Mailing List

Haskell County History
Haskell County, originally named Sans Bois County prior to statehood is located in southeastern Oklahoma.  Haskell County was created in 1907 at statehood.  In that same year Stigler defeated Keota and Whitefield in a competition for the county seat.  The county name honors Charles N. Haskell, Oklahoma's first governor and a member of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention. In 1907 Haskell County's population stood at approximately 17, 000.  At the beginning of the twenty-first century, there were six incorporated towns in Haskell County:  Stigler, McCurtain, Tamaha, Keota, Whitefield and Kinta.

The major areas, including the incorporated towns which made up Haskell County, were definitely contained in Sans Bois County, Brooken, Lequire, Hoyt, Kanima, Enterprise, Cartersville, Star and other small rural communities. Prior to statehood, as far as " county seat "can be applied to the Choctaw form of government.  The Sans Bois county courthouse represented the only county seat (prior to statehood ) . During the transition of statehood and terms of the Constitutional Convention, Sans Bois County became Haskell County.

The Sans Bois Mountains, is situated in the southern portion of the county and two lakes,  the Robert S. Kerr Reservoir from the east and Lake Eufaula in the west, protrude into the county in the north. The Robert S. Kerr Reservoir,  has greatly benefitted the county, especially the town of Keota, making it a shipping point and attracting industry.

There is significance evidence that there existed presence of Caddoan-speaking Mound Builders ( approximately A.D. 850 - 1450 in the areas of the two rivers.  This has been documented by archaeological evidence.  The Choctaw, Witchita, Chicksaw, Osage and Quapaw hunted in this area of eastern Oklahoma before European contact.  In 1831 The Choctaws began arriving from there forced removal to the newly created Choctaw Nation, which included  Haskell County,  A few came by steamboat and landed at Tamaha.

As statehood approached the Choctaw government dealt with allotment, losing  the rights to its Segregated Coal Lands and lastly its right to self-government, Chief Greenwood McCurtain held the office of principle chief.  Chief McCurtain, the last of the three McCurtain brothers, the last to hold this important position, lived and made his headquarters at Sans Bois, in southern Haskell County. When Chief McCurtain's term expired in 1904, he was appointed as lifetime chief by President Theodore Roosevelt and served after statehood in 1907 until his death on December 27, 1910.

Some links to Communities, Towns, & Cities 

Beaver Mountain
-See Beaver Mountain

Stigler (County Seat)
Iron Bridge
Red Hill
Sans Bois


Adjacent Counties

Muskogee County (north)

McIntosh County (northwest)

Pittsburg County (west)

Sequoyah County (northeast

Le Flore County (east)

Latimer County (south)

(lots of good County links)
Choctaw Nation 
Choctaw Nation
Haskell County Assessor

This page updated on 07/08/13


Haskell Co
Haskell Co. Oklahoma
 US Gen Web
Oklahoma's FGS Project


Oklahoma Family Group Sheets
All States Family Group Sheet Project

OK Gen Web State Coordinator
Linda Simpson
Asst: Mel Owings
1996-Present ~ All Rights Reserved

This page is maintained for the OK Gen Web by County Coordinator Jeff Smith

Animated US Flag
God Bless America

A Sincere Thanks To All Contributors !!!!!!

Hosted & Copyrighted 2015 by:

U.S. GEN WEB NOTICE: In keeping with our policy of providing free Information on the Internet, data may be used by non-commercial entities, as long as this message remains on all copied material. These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or for presentation by other persons or organizations. Files may be printed or copied for Personal use only. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material for purposes other than stated above must obtain the written consent of the file contributor.